Bilal Wahib gekozen als een van EFP’s European Shooting Stars

Dangerous love triangles, committed social workers, spiritual transformations, serial killers, fearless war reporters. welcome to the world of our EUROPEAN SHOOTING STARS 2020! The 23 edition of EFP’s talent promotion programme will present ten of the best up-and-coming young actresses and actors from Europe from the 21 – 24 February 2020 to the film industry, public and international press during the 70th Berlin International Film Festival (20 February – 1 March 2020).

The outstanding talents were selected by a jury of industry experts, who deemed them ready to step out onto the international film scene. To support this, the programme offers them the unique opportunity to have one-on-one meetings with over 80 internationally operating casting directors, producers and filmmakers, laying the foundation for a professional network much needed when embarking upon an international career. The programme culminates in an awards ceremony at the Berlinale Palast on Monday 24 February, where each actor will be honoured with the EUROPEAN SHOOTING STARS Award. EFP’s flagship initiative is financially supported by the Creative Europe – MEDIA Programme of the European Union and the respective national film institutes, EFP’s member organisations.

Bilal Wahib from The Netherlands is this year’s youngest Shooting Star, but already an old hand at acting. He started acting at 13 and this year already took on leading roles in two Dutch productions, among them Paradise Drifters (2019), which will premiere at the Berlin International Film Festival in the Generation section. Watching his performance the jury was “touched by his childlike gentleness, riveted by his raw ferocity, shaken up by his genuine fears”.

EUROPEAN SHOOTING STARS is the oldest and most efficient Europe-wide initiative to cast a spotlight on the most talented, up-and-coming actresses and actors. Each year an impressive average of eight out of ten winners will take part in international casting sessions following the award. Since its first showcase in 1998, a total of 312 European Shooting Stars have been presented at the Berlinale, one of the most important international film festivals worldwide. Most notable actors of recent years include: Carey Mulligan (Mudbound) , Alba Rohrwacher (Happy as Lazzaro), Oscar-winner Alicia Vikander (Tomb Raider), Pilou Asbaek (Game of Thrones), Riz Ahmed (The Sisters Brothers), Marwan Kenzari (Instinct) and George MacKay (Captain Fantastic).

The members of the 2020 jury are: British casting director Lucy Bevan, Finnish director Dome Karukoski, producer Katarína Krnácová from Slovakia, former Bulgarian Shooting Star turned director Vesela Kazakova, and film journalist Rüdiger Sturm from Germany. For more information on the EUROPEAN SHOOTING STARS 2020 and the full jury comments please go to: